top of page

Music Monday, but on a Thursday :-)

Music has been my life for as long as I can remember. My biological Dad is a piano player, a singer, an all around cabaret performer. He is an amazing talent. When I was young, I remember him putting me up on the piano bench and we would SING! On the nights when he had me at his house, I would go to his gigs with him and fall asleep watching him play. Then, when I was around 5, he started giving me the mic and asking me to sing and people would all say “aw!” My favorite song to sing with him was an oldie called “Won’t you play a simple melody,” it had a solo part for me and then my Dad came in and we sang together. I unfortunately, only talk to my Dad, maybe 3 times a year now, and I never see him.  As soon as I get the chance to see him again, I will use the awesome technology of today and record us together singing that song and then I can post it here!

I started doing musical theater, I think around the age of 12, and just fell in love. I majored in it in my under graduate ( yes, this Acupuncture Physician has a degree in Musical Theater!) and I can tell you right now that I could not live without music. I workout to it, I play it for my girls while we cook together, I sing in the car, I sing in the shower, I even sing while I’m drying my hair. I have a few “core songs” that just light up my life and I never tire of them.

Every Monday will be music Monday here at Calm Chat!! I will post a song and tell you my story behind it and we will enjoy some music together!

Yes yes, I know, it’s Thursday, but from now forward, this post will be on Mondays! I’m just getting it all started, so please, bare with me…

My first Music Monday entry ( on a Thursday) IS …. Kenny Loggins “This is it” I LOVE THIS SONG!!! I have the best memory from when I was probably 7 or 8 years old, my Mom taking this Album out and saying “isn’t he handsome?” pointing to the picture of Kenny on the album cover, then she set the record down, moved the needle over to the chosen song, and we danced and we danced and we SANG ….I had the JOY, the pure JOY, of meeting Kenny Loggins on Mother’s Day 2012 ( my mom and I had no idea how handsome he truly IS!) I had the chance to tell him how much I loved this song, how cool is that??http://www.calmchat.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/03-This-Is-It.m4a! I’m off to listen, really listen…..and maybe dance a little….to this great tune 🙂

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Music Monday, a bit late…

I’m behind on posting! Here’s Monday’s post that I wrote but never put it out there….. For the past week, I’ve been thinking a lot about things that bring me joy. Have you ever made a list of things t

Music Monday and LOVE

This Music Monday is about LOVE. True, unconditional, amazing LOVE. I was up this morning at 4:45 AM to get ready to leave Michigan and head back home to Florida. Every time I leave Michigan, I cry. I

Music MONDAY!!

I am feeling empowered and today’s Music Monday song is about being EMPOWERED and I’m remembering my late friend and patient Mark who used to sign his emails “Love, Mark (roaring). ” He was fighting A

bottom of page